If you live in Illinois, then you’ve probably heard of Scott’s Law. But what is it, exactly? Scott’s Law is a law that requires drivers to yield to emergency vehicles that are stopped on the side of the road with their lights activated. Often referred to as the “Move Over” law, this law was passed in 1997.
Scott’s Law is named after Lieutenant Scott Gillen, an Illinois State Police officer who was killed in 2000 when he was struck by a passing motorist while assisting at the scene of a car accident. In the years since Lieutenant Gillen’s death, there have been numerous other incidents in which first responders have been injured or killed by passing motorists who did not see them or did not know how to react when they did see them.
As a result of these incidents, the Illinois General Assembly passed Scott’s Law in 2002. This law requires drivers to move over or slow down when they see an emergency vehicle stopped on the side of the road with its lights activated. If drivers cannot move over because there is traffic in the other lane, then they must slow down and be prepared to stop if necessary. Failure to comply with Scott’s Law can result in a fine of up to $10,000 and up to three years in prison.
Scott’s Law Explained
In Scott’s law, otherwise known as the Move Over law, motorists are required to move over or slow down when approaching any vehicle with its flashing lights on. The purpose of this law is to protect emergency responders and tow truck operators who are working on the side of the road.
Breaking Scott’s law can result in a traffic citation, and if someone is injured as a result of a violation, the driver can be charged with a misdemeanor.
If you see an emergency vehicle or tow truck on the side of the road, make sure to move over or slow down when approaching. By following this law, you can help keep our roads safe for everyone.
Penalties for violating Scott’s Law include:
a fine of up to $10,000; revocation of driving privileges for a minimum of one year; and a mandatory prison sentence of at least two years if the violation results in great bodily harm or permanent disability.
If you are caught violating Scott’s Law, you will face severe penalties. These can include a fine of up to $10,000, revocation of your driver’s license for at least one year, and a mandatory prison sentence of at least two years if you cause great bodily harm or permanent disability to another person. Don’t take the risk – drive safely and follow the law.
Scott’s Law Licence Suspensions
Scott’s Law, also known as the Move Over Law, states that drivers must yield to stationary emergency vehicles with their emergency lights activated. Drivers who fail to do so may be subject to license suspensions or revocations. If a driver is convicted of violating Scott’s Law, they may face a mandatory minimum fine of $500 and a maximum fine of $10,000. In addition, the driver may have their license suspended for up to 2 years. Finally, the driver may be required to perform community service or attend traffic safety courses.
Scott’s Law is an important law that helps protect first responders from being injured or killed by passing motorists. If you see an emergency vehicle stopped on the side of the road with its lights activated, be sure to move over or slow down as required by law. Doing so could save a life!
Is Lane Splitting Legal In Nj? | Everything you Need To Know
Children In The Back Of A Truck Law | 2022 Laws Updated
Leave a Reply